Marathon Du Medoc

In my last post I mentioned that I’m 30 years of age, or as some would say, 30 years young.
My thirties so far have been great. In fact, the way that I decided to enter in to my thirties was somewhat of a different experience most would have.

It was back in early 2013 that I decided that I wanted to do something to mark this milestone of a birthday. With Google at my fingertips I was searching for some inspiration on what I could do. It wasn’t until one fine sunny February morning that my fitness freak of a brother emailed me a webpage link, from his home in London, suggesting that I travel over and do a marathon with him.

A Marathon?!

Being a social runner, and having only ever done one half-marathon a couple of years ago, I swore to myself I would never do a full marathon – way too far!

So I clicked through on the webpage link, and low-and-behold I was sold. It was a wine marathon in Bordeaux France! Yep, you read it right…a wine marathon in Bordeaux France.
The marathon is called ‘Marathon Du Medoc’. The idea of this marathon, is that you dress-up in fancy dress, with the theme being Science Fiction, and run a full marathon distance of 40.195km (26.2 miles) through the Medoc wine region (think of the Yarra Valley, but bigger and filled with French people), dropping in to chateaus and drinking wine along the way.

marathon du medoc poster

All signed up, I began my training regime.

How does one train for an event like this? Should I be taking a flask of wine on my training runs? What fancy dress costume should I run my first marathon in?

Seeing as though I’d never run that far before, and to avoid the weird looks from people seeing me downing a shiraz on the running trails, I decided to split my training in to two parts.

Part one of my training:
I followed a 13-week program of continual running. Never before have I run so much in my life. It was painful, but at the same time rewarding, running the distances that I did, and churning through a pair of runners from it.

Part two of my training:
Keeping up the vino intake, responsibly of course. While most who train for marathons would eliminate all forms of alcohol, it was important for me to keep this up. After all, I would be drinking wine on the run, and it would be irresponsible of me to lower my tolerance levels. Suffice to say, part two of the training program was my favourite.

At the end of the 13 weeks, it was time to pack my bags, along with my fancy dress costume, and head over to France.

Stay tuned, as my next post I’ll be taking you along the ride with me on what was a very unique, and extremely exhilarating experience. Here’s a little taste as to what I chose as my Sci-Fi fancy dress costume.

marathon_outfit

Until next time wino’s, cheers.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

